10 Notable Alumni from California Western School of Law

By | July 3, 2023

In this post, we’re introducing 10 distinguished alumni from California Western School of Law.

Be sure to read our previous articles covering California Western School of Law’s acceptance rate and ranking, as well as the LSAT and GPA requirements.

1. Shana Dale

Shana L. Dale, born in 1964 in Georgia, is an accomplished American politician and lawyer. Notably, she held the position of Deputy Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) during the George W. Bush administration from 2005 to 2009.

2. Anthony J. Battaglia

Anthony Joseph Battaglia, born on April 10, 1949, serves as a distinguished senior United States district judge for the Southern District of California. Prior to his current role, he also served as a United States magistrate judge within the same court.

3. Bruce Blackman

Born on October 2, 1955, Bruce Arthur Blakeman is an American attorney and politician who currently holds the position of the 10th County Executive of Nassau County, New York. Prior to his tenure as County Executive, Blakeman served as the commissioner for the New York-New Jersey Port Authority, as well as holding positions as a Nassau County legislator and Hempstead town councilman.

4. Rand S. Grossman

Randy Grossman, an American lawyer, currently holds the esteemed position of United States Attorney for the Southern District of California. On April 25, 2022, he was appointed by the U.S. District Court to this role. Serving as the chief federal law enforcement official for the district encompassing San Diego and Imperial counties, Grossman plays a pivotal role in representing the United States in civil litigation.

5. Brian Maienschein

Brian Maienschein, born on May 22, 1969, is an American attorney and politician who currently holds a prominent position in the California State Assembly. Since 2012, he has been representing the 76th district, which includes parts of northeastern San Diego. Before his tenure in the state assembly, Maienschein served as a member of the San Diego City Council, where he notably held the position of the city’s first Commissioner on Homelessness.

6. M. Casey Rodgers

Born on August 13, 1964, Margaret Catharine Rodgers, known professionally as M. Casey Rodgers, is an esteemed United States district judge. Nominated by President George W. Bush on July 14, 2003, Margaret Catharine Rodgers was selected to fill the seat on the United States District Court for the Northern District of Florida that was previously held by Lacey A. Collier. Following confirmation by the United States Senate on October 20, 2003, Rodgers received her commission on November 21, 2003. Notably, she made history as the first woman to be appointed to the district. From 2011 to 2018, Rodgers also served as the Chief Judge of the court.

7. Scott C. Black

Lieutenant General Scott C. Black, born on September 1, 1952, is a highly regarded retired American military lawyer. From October 1, 2005, to October 1, 2009, he served as the Judge Advocate General of the United States Army, becoming the first lieutenant general to hold this prestigious position. Currently, Black holds the role of Vice President and General Manager at BAE Systems Support Solutions.

8. Bruce E. MacDonald

Bruce Edward MacDonald, born in 1955, is a retired United States Navy vice admiral with an exceptional career. He notably served as the 40th Judge Advocate General of the Navy from July 2006 to August 2009. Prior to this, MacDonald held the position of Deputy Judge Advocate General of the Navy from November 2004 to July 2006. MacDonald achieved significant milestones in his career, starting with his nomination for appointment to the grade of vice admiral on July 2, 2008, while actively serving as the Navy’s Judge Advocate General. The Senate’s confirmation on August 1, 2008, marked a pivotal moment as he was promoted to the grade on August 4, 2008. Notably, MacDonald made history by becoming the first JAG to hold the distinguished rank of a three-star flag officer.

9. David Roger

David Jeanjoseph Roger (born July 28, 1961), an American attorney and politician, has had a notable career. He held the position of District Attorney of Clark County from January 6, 2003, to January 3, 2012. Roger is a member of the Republican Party.

10. James B. Gibson

James Brinley Gibson, born on May 5, 1948, is an esteemed American attorney and politician. Notably, he served as the 11th mayor of Henderson, Nevada, from 1997 to 2009. Currently, Gibson holds the position of Clark County Commissioner, a role he has assumed since 2017. It is worth mentioning that he is an active member of the Democratic Party.